Milan Kundera

Publisher :HarperCollins 

Key Emotion Indicator

Divided into seven parts, Immortality centers on Agnes, her husband Paul and her sister Laura. Part One: the Face establishes these characters. Part Two: Immortality depicts Goethe's fraught relationship with Bettina, a young woman who aspires to create a place for herself in the pantheon of history by controlling Goethe's legacy after his death. Part Three: Agnes and Laura fight, while focusing on the deteriorating state of Laura's relationship with Bernard Bertrand. Part Four: Homo Sentimentalis chronicles Goethe's afterlife and postmortem friendship with Ernest Hemingway. Part Five: Chance sees Agnes' death, and intersects these fictional events with Kundera's seemingly autobiographical account of a conversation with Professor Avenarius. Part Six: the Dial introduces a new character, Rubens, who had an affair with Agnes years prior to the onset of the main events in the plot. Part Seven: the Celebration concludes the novel in the same health club where Kundera first observed the inspirational wave gesture.

For the week-ends


To my acquaintances

fairly easy to read

Classic modern

Less than 10$

A few days



These books might also interest you

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: A scandal in Bohemia

Anne of Green Gables

Soul Mountain

A personnal matter

Read for a better life, read for a better world


Our services | The project | Contact | Terms and conditions | FAQ